City Building Games

Num7

Administrator
Staff
I know the latest SimCity is lame. Gameplay is too simplified, the maps are waaaaay too small and it's downright too easy.

I've been playing the SimCity series for years since SimCity 2000. Then came 3000. then 4, then 4: Rush Hour. They were all amazing, even the 4th one, released in 2003 is still a very good game today. Even though I have the latest one released in 2013, I don't play much because it doesn't feel like a SimCity game at all. :(

That said, SimCity 2000 has a special place in my heart. :)

I just discovered a pretty good city building game that was released in 2015: Cities: Skylines. It's kinda like what Simcity 2013 was supposed to be, except there are no disasters. You can build ridiculously huge cities that will have you ponder what to do next for hours and hours. The game engine works a treat and it does feel like a Simcity game, surprisingly.

What city building games are you enjoying the most?

LisaTiffany

My boyfriend played city skylines for a while but he had to keep tearing down his cities because he didn't put in enough planning for infrastructure and the like so soon enough his city had traffic jams all over and he kept losing control. In the end he quit playing, technically my current minecraft world could be called a city builder. I started work on it last January. It's all been built one block at a time on PS4 and I've kept it a solo project. I love architecture so I try to incorporate a lot of real buildings.

mycity.jpg

I also set aside a few maps for more traditional builds, there are also about 20 different modern houses with full interiors and landscaping. I've just finished the London HSBC building, the London Citi tower, and the New York CitiCorp HQ :)

mytrad.jpg

Num7

Administrator
Staff
OMG, Minecraft!! LOL I WANNA PLAY SO BAD!!