Opinion: Cloaking Cryptids. What Are these ‘Creatures’?

Cryptozoology News

Cryptozoology Blog
The following is an opinion article submitted by one of our contributors. You can also contribute with your opinion by sending an email to [email protected]

The recent articles in Cryptozoology News regarding “Predator-like” humanoids –“Has Anyone Else Seen This Being?: Pennsylvania Family Claims Predator-Like Humanoid Sighting” and “Washington Man: ‘I Have Also Seen the Predator-Like Humanoids” — have hit a nerve in me and have made me take a closer look at the phenomenon.

predator-movie.jpg

A quick glance at the headlines bring to mind images from the 1987 classic Sci-Fi film Predator: Jesse Ventura spitting tobacco and claiming he doesn’t have time to bleed; a massive humanoid with dreadlocks leaping through the jungle; and, who can forget at the end of the movie when Dutch, played by Arnold Schwarzenegger, declares, “you are one ugly m**********r.” I was a sophomore in high school when I first watched the movie, so seeing “Predator” in a headline evokes a feeling of nostalgia in me. However, these articles are not about a band of rogue commandos chasing an extraterrestrial through the jungles of Central America; no, something else—something real—is going on here, and it deserves a closer look.

At the heart of the articles mentioned is something that sounds almost like a cloaking mechanism at work in the humanoids observed. Similar to the way that the Predator in the movie could make itself invisible, the creatures in these reports seem to be able to do the same thing—at least to a degree. It is as if they can simply make themselves disappear. As outlandish as this may sound, it is not without precedent.