Earth Battery Experiment

thenumbersix

Earth Battery Experiment

This seems like the most relevant place to post...Have been researching this for a while and have finally decided, by chance, to test it out.

Apparatus :

1 x Grotty old piece of Copper pipe (approx 5mm guage)
1 x Soft 'Iron' Bar (approx 8mm guage)
1 x Patch of Earth (in the garden)
1 x Brick / Hammer
1 x Hacksaw
1 x Mutimeter.

Was round my Dad's earlier rummaging through his workshop and questioning him on batteries, he's an electrician by trade, and found the two bits of pipe.

Came home and cut approx. 1 foot lengths (NB. Imperial measurement used, they are the proper way after all :)) and hammered them into the ground about 3 & 1/2 inches apart after scraping the sides to expose some clean metal.

I then poured a bit of vinegar and some coke inbetween the two and went a got the multimeter. Straight away am getting 0.82v that went up to 0.84v after ten minutes..

earth%20battery.jpg

This is obviously an early stage of trying this out but am impressed with the results so far. So more info I've found useful :

To increase the Current (or Amps) I need to increase the 'noble difference' by using different metals. The further apart on the chart the higher the amps. I intend to use copper and a graphite rod (doesn't seem to be on that chart but it was the most anodic on another one) :

GALVANIC CORROSION

As for increasing voltage, one cell (in this case the two bars) will create a maximum of 2v, apparently this is inherent in batteries. I intend to cut up some more pipes and connect them in series. ie. + on one cell to the - on the next cell.. In theory, if I can achieve 1.5v from each cell it will only take 8 cells (!6 bits of old pipe) to generate 12v. The amount of current I can get is going to be the interesting part...