Movement is an illusion?

TimeWizardCosmo

Zenith
Movement is an illusion?

I remember back in highschool we had this really weird science teacher. I'm going to try and explain things the way he did, but I might screw it up. I'm a graphic designer, not a physicist :D

Say you have a line segment:
ab.gif

Now, everyone learns in geometry that a line segment has an infinite number of points within itself. Given this, imagine that you were standing at point A, and that you wanted to get to point B. To do this, you would have to traverse an infinite number of points.

Given the definition of the word infinite:

in?fi?nite
adj.
Having no boundaries or limits.
Immeasurably great or large; boundless: infinite patience; a discovery of infinite importance.
Mathematics.
Existing beyond or being greater than any arbitrarily large value.
Unlimited in spatial extent: a line of infinite length.
Of or relating to a set capable of being put into one-to-one correspondence with a proper subset of itself.

It should be impossible to move from point A to point B because there are an unlimited number of points between the two. If there was a such thing as "infinity", you could never traverse all given points since they are, well... Infinite.

The only way you could possibly move from one point to another is if infinity did not exist.

*sigh* I really hope I explained this right....

Jean-Jacques Mass

Movement is an illusion?

Interesting explanation, however it relies on a mathematical description of a "point". In our daily lives we move from point A to point B all the time; our walk from our house to the coffee shop, from one point to another, is easily accomplished. Now, during our travel we do cross an infinite number of mathematical points, but remember the definition of a point in mathematics is that the point has no mass and is infinitely small, and thus does not exist in the real world.

TimeWizardCosmo

Zenith
Movement is an illusion?