Media 3 Women rescued after missing for a decade from Kidnapping

Samstwitch

ABSOLUTELY INCREDIBLE!

Three Ohio women rescued a decade after they vanished

CLEVELAND (Reuters) - An Ohio school bus driver and his two brothers have been arrested after three women who vanished separately as teenagers about a decade ago were found alive at a Cleveland house.

Authorities were alerted to the missing women's whereabouts on Monday evening by a frantic emergency call from one of them, Amanda Berry, moments after she was freed from the house by a neighbor who said he heard screaming and came to her aid.

"Help me! I'm Amanda Berry. ... I've been kidnapped and I've been missing for 10 years and I'm here. I'm free now," Berry, now 26, is heard telling a 911 operator in a recording of the call released by police and posted on the Internet.

Berry had last been seen leaving her job at a fast-food restaurant the day before her 17th birthday in April 2003. The two women found with her were identified by authorities as Gina DeJesus, 23, who vanished in 2004 aged 14 while walking home from school, and Michelle Knight, who was reported to have been 18 or 19 when she went missing in 2002.

A physician at MetroHealth Medical Center, where the three women were taken for evaluation, said all were safe and appeared to be in "fair condition."

"This isn't the ending we usually have to these stories," Dr. Gerald Maloney said. "We're very happy for them."

The house is close to where each woman was last seen, and police believe they were in the home for the entire time they were missing. The circumstances of their apparent abductions and captivity remained murky, but officials said further details would be disclosed at a news conference early on Tuesday.

During her 911 call, Berry gave the name of her alleged abductor, said he had left the house and urged police to come quickly before he returned. She indicated that she knew her disappearance had been widely reported in the media.