Recent Down Times

Num7

Administrator
Staff
Like Cosmo said, it's very likely some kid in his basement. There's no real way to know where it's coming from, sadly.

I don't think it's the government or the FBI though.

Glad things are fixed and stable now.

Dalet

This door is now closed.
I'm a web developer and we see this kind of thing with our clients all the time. More often than not, it's not some guy in a basement trying to mess with Num.

These kinds of attacks are usually penetration testing, trying to find weaknesses in the software or server so they can inject malicious code into the site. This isn't done by a person, but a botnet or an automated script that's programmed to hit a ton of sites to find a weakness.

Look at the footer of this site - Do you see where it says "Forum Powered by xenForo"? That's all it takes to get on someone's hacking list. If you know the software a site uses, and you know older versions of that software have security vulnerabilities, it's as simple as Googling for that "powered by" message and targeting whatever sites show up.

Could it be some asshole at the Pentagon trying to take this place down? ...Sure. Why not. I doubt it though.

I told Num7 that I would not be returning here to post any longer, but the above post by Cosmo got me to thinking that I owe someone an apology. Before I get to that, however, there are a few questions I have: