The Mentally Ill

pauli

The Mentally Ill

This may seem like a strange topic, but I've been interested for some time in mental illnesses. I would hate to have one myself, but I'm particularly interested in schizophrenia and psychotic illnesses - I read that about one percent of the world's population is going to experience a schizophrenic episode at some point in their lives - I think that works out to be 600, 000 people in Britain. I don't think all of them have the full-blown illness, but they experience at least one episode.

Hi Doc,

There is no reason to feel a bit strange for bringing up this topic. Schizophrenia and psychosis is a fascinating study. I have read up a bit about it. There are opinions that run the gamut. Most theorists believe that psychotic illnesses are not fixable. A few think that they can be fixed, depending upon the person and the level and degree of their illness. As a psych student, I did a lot of reading about how Jung approached "dementia praecox," aka schizophrenia, and he had a number of successes in treating these sorts of patients. However, it does not work in every case. There are some patients who are too far gone; their ego has been replaced with a more or less collective sort of personality. Cases like that are very sad because they are not fixable.

In recent times, psychiatry has turned to drugs to try and fix the problem. Unfortunately, the cases are chronic, so the drug use is life-long - or at least until the body rejects the drug and then it has to be replaced.