Straightening Out My Sleep Patterns And Meditation

Num7

Administrator
Staff
I've been thinking about working on my sleep patterns for a while now, but never had the balls to do it. Hopefully, posting my progress on the forum will motivate me.

Why do I want to improve my sleeping patterns? Here's why:
  • I go to bed at about 1AM every night.
  • I get up at 7AM every morning and work all day.
  • Most of the time I don't sleep until 2AM, which makes about 4-5 hours of sleep per night.
  • Every morning, I feel like shit because I didn't sleep enough.
  • During the weekend, I sleep for 12-14 hours per night and get up around 1PM. Talk about a wrecked up sleeping pattern.
I've been doing this for the last 6-9 months. I don't want to do that anymore. What I'm going to do are the following things, starting on Sunday September 11th, Monday the 12th being Day One:
  • I'm going to head to bed at 11PM.
  • I will meditate for 15 minutes once I get in bed. Basically, from 11:00 to 11:15.
  • I'm going to make sure I don't eat any weird food before going to bed, by the way.
I'm going to log how I feel in this topic everyday. But wait, I'm not done yet. Once my sleep patterns are back to normal, I'm going to continue messing around with meditation and hopefully get to achieve vivid dreaming more often (and perhaps more?). This sleep pattern project will then turn into a meditation experiment after a few weeks. I may consider trying the I-Doser at some point, but that's for another topic.

So, I meditated 2 nights ago for about 5 minutes before heading to bed at around Midnight. I never ever meditated before, all I did was concentrate big time on my breathing. After 5 minutes I felt relaxed and great. 15 minutes later I was asleep, something usually impossible for me.

I look forward to read your comments and ideas on the matter, perhaps there's something I didn't think about. I'll start posting my daily updates on Monday night, about Night One.

--Numenorean7

Num7